Types of Literary Genres

Hey guys!! Sorry this post is SUPER late. Also sorry for not posting really often. Anyway, I hope you like this post! Comment if you notice anything that needs to be fixed or if you have any suggestions on how to make it better. Also, like this post, and follow me for more!

A genre is a category of artistic, musical, or literary composition characterized by particular style form, and content.

The primary genres in literature and poetry are drama/play, essay, short story, novel, and novella. The term genre is often used to signify the sub-classification or specific types of literature, such as: comedy, mythology, fables, fantasy, parables, allegory, realistic fiction, historical fiction, horror fiction, science fiction, tragedy, epic poetry fiction, thriller, romance, etc.

One of my favorite stories is “Sherlock Holmes; A Study In Scarlet” by Arthur Conan Doyle. It is a fictional murder mystery case solved by Detective Sherlock Holmes, a world-renowned detective, and his best friend Dr. John Watson. “A Study In Scarlet” is a 90-page story in which a man murders someone and tries to cover it up by framing someone else. He is eventually caught due to Sherlock Holmes’ superb detective skills! What I especially love about this story is that after the murder mystery is solved, there is a second part to the story which tells about the circumstances that lead the murderer to commit such a hideous crime. This story falls into the genre of crime fiction or mystery. It is considered a novel in which the theme is revenge and murder.

Another one of my favorite books is “The Merry Adventures Of Robin Hood” by Howard Pyle. This is an adventure fiction and historical fiction book. It’s also considered a novel. In this book, an outlaw named Robin Hood and his “merry band” live in a forest stealing from the rich and nobilities of England, and donating and helping the poor. They have many adventures as they escape the Sherriff of Nottingham, who is constantly plotting to catch them. They make lots of new friends and “band” members along the way.

Published by Zaynab

I am a 15-year-old girl in ninth grade. I like Ninjago (don't judge--its actually good), and The Buffalo Bills (NFL team). I LOVE American history and learning about our presidents/their achievements. Cole, my favorite character from Ninjago is who you see in my profile picture. (Art by CANDYDRAGONX). I live in New York, USA with my 3 brothers; and my mom and dad. I use this blog to post my essays from Physical Science, Classic Autobiographies, Western Civilization 1, and Business 1 on the Ron Paul Curriculum. I also do Algebra 2 on the RPC but I don't write essays for that class. Another class I take is Public Speaking but I don't post my speeches online for security reasons.

2 thoughts on “Types of Literary Genres

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started